Posted by: popsgurl44 | March 28, 2009

Momentary Crave: A taste of Home.

Chicken Cacciatore

Translation from Italian Cacciatore means “hunter”  being that this dish is filled with easy accessible ingredients to a “huntsman”.  Today the only hunting I do is between the commissary, local produce stands and Okinawan markets.

I try to use fresh ingredients in most of my dishes. Here in Oki, well, that is slightly different. Many of the dishes I know by heart are Italian and German. They stem from a long line of old recipes passed down and newer faves picked up during each generation.  I absolutely LOVE Italian food. It is my top pick of my fave three: Italian, Japanese, and German.  German food here is a  bit hard to come by, but that’s okay because I definitely have more than enough options on the Japanese cuisine! 

I made Chicken Cacciatore the other night. From one dinner, I was flushed with memories of Jersey Diners, boardwalk food, and most of all Mom’s home-cookin’!

Food tastes completely different everywhere  I have lived. It can be take-out or my own recipe, flavors just vary. Using local fresh ingredients always tends to do that! Most of the time it’s good, just not the same. You will never taste better Italian food than Italy I am sure!

I grew a custom to the flavors and feelings of food growing  up in New Jersey. Packed with ethnic backgrounds from all over the world, Jersey has been my international cuisine hub. A hop to New York for almost any cuisine you can imagine from all around the world. A skip to Philly for of course “The BEST” cheesesteaks ever! A drive to the coast for seafood delights. Practically in my own backyard my best loved comfort food Jersey Diner delights. Open 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Not to mention all of the convienience stores open 24-7 as well to get your snack fix!

Yes, one dinner made me remember all that! I am a foodie by nature! So here, in this post and probably more posts likely to come, I will be sharing some of my favorite recipes. Some I will pull from the internet, as this one, in fact! Others, I will pull from my own collection.  As for this post I pulled from a site I can no longer find but will update if found 🙂 I do have the recipe still. I also have my variation. You, however, will only be able to savor my version by dinner invitation! Sorry- family secrets!

This recipe is quick and simple and a good variation to the traditional: bone-in chicken. It’s one of my quick faves. Although, on a side note, the quick version tends to be a bit bland here compared to back in the states. I used the commissary frozen chicken. I am going to try local chicken next time. Slow cooking is a great option too! I prefer the slow cooked version here 🙂

The Quick Version

The Quick Version

 Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour for coating
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 (4 pound) chicken, cut into pieces (I use cubed pieces of chicken breasts)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes ( I use the equivalant in fresh tomatoes)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 cup white wine (this can be omitted but I don’t recommend it)
  • 2 cups fresh mushrooms, quartered
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Combine the flour, salt and pepper in a plastic bag. Shake the chicken pieces in flour until coated. Heat the oil in a large skillet (one that has a cover/lid). Fry the chicken pieces until they are browned on both sides. Remove from skillet.
  2. Add the onion, garlic and bell pepper to the skillet and saute until the onion is slightly browned. Return the chicken to the skillet and add the tomatoes, oregano and wine. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes over medium low heat.
  3. Add the mushrooms and salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for 10 more minutes.

Tada! Again this is the quickest way. This is not my traditional. It’s a great quick fix for my busy life! Enjoy!

Responses

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


Leave a Reply

Categories

